LGBT group passes on Charlotte mayoral endorsement

City Council, school board candidates from all parties get nod

Democrat Al Austin, left, with Republican Mark Frietch, center, chat with MeckPAC supporter Barry Brodsky.

Democrat Al Austin, left, with Republican Mark Frietch, center, chat
with MeckPAC supporter Barry Brodsky.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — A local LGBT political action committee passed over both Charlotte mayoral candidates in their endorsements process this year as it announced their candidate choices in local races at a reception last night.

The Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) released their endorsements at a reception on Tuesday evening. Neither Democrat Patrick Cannon nor Republican Edwin Peacock III won the group’s endorsement for mayor.

- - - advertisement - - -

read more…

Read the qnotes interviews with Charlotte mayoral candidates and our endorsement editorial.

at a glance

MeckPAC’s endorsements:
School Board
Tom Tate (Non-Partisan)
Joyce Waddell (Non-Partisan)
City Council
Patsy Kinsey (D-Dist. 1)
Al Austin (D-Dist. 2)
LaWana Mayfield (D-Dist. 3)
Michael Zytkow (I-Dist. 4)
John Autry (D-Dist. 5)
City Council At-large
Eric Cable (L)
Claire Fallon (D)
Ken Harris (R)
David Howard (D)
Vi Alexander Lyles (D)
Huntersville Mayor
Jill Swain (Non-Partisan)

MeckPAC chair Scott Bishop said his group raised the bar in their endorsements process this year, including a question on marriage equality for same-sex couples. Though both candidates are friendly and supportive, Cannon’s and Peacock’s answers to those questions weren’t sufficient, Bishop said. qnotesmayoral endorsements this year were similar.

The group also released several other endorsement decisions. Joyce Waddell and Tome Tate received endorsements in their school board races. Huntersville Mayor Jill Swain also received the group’s approval, the first time the group has endorsed a mayoral candidate in one of Mecklenburg County’s suburban towns.

In Charlotte City Council races, MeckPAC endorsed Democratic District 1 candidate Patsy Kinsey, Democratic District 2 candidate Al Austin, incumbent Democratic District 3 Councilmember LaWana Mayfield, independent District 4 candidate Michael Zytkow and incumbent Democratic District 5 Councilmember John Autry.

- - - advertisement - - -

In At-large races, the group endorsed incumbent Democrats Claire Fallon and David Howard, along with Democrat Vi Alexander Lyles, Republican Ken Harris and Libertarian Eric Cable.

Three non-endorsed candidates have received the group’s “receptive” label, including Republican At-large candidates Vanessa Faura and Mark Frietch and Democratic District 4 candidate Greg Phipps. The group says receptive candidates are friendly on LGBT issues.

Bishop said this year marks the first time that MeckPAC has been able to endorse candidates from all political parties. In total, 22 candidates returned the group’s candidate questionnaire. Twelve candidates attended the reception last night.

The general election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 5.

- - - advertisement - - -

Posted by Matt Comer

Matt Comer is a staff writer for QNotes. He previously served as editor from October 2007 through August 2015.