InFocus: Charlotte — Government and politics

infocuscharlotte_largeheader

Back to InFocus: Charlotte Index…

Charlotte/Mecklenburg County

Civic Life

Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners
(elected in even-numbered years/six from districts/three at-large)
Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 E. 4th St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-336-2472
charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/BOCC
Regular Meetings:
Tuesdays, 6 p.m., Meeting Chamber

The commission is currently dominated by Democrats and is largely supportive of the LGBT community.

Trevor Fuller, Chairman (D)
Trevor.Fuller@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
704-724-5831

Dumont Clarke, Vice Chairman (D)
dumontclarke@mvalaw.com
704-331-1051

Pat Cotham, At Large (D)
Pat.Cotham@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
704-336-3866

Kim M. Ratliff, At Large (D)
Kim.Ratliff@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
704-336-2641

Karen Bentley, District 1 (R)
Karen.Bentley@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
704-432-3997

Vilma Leake, District 2 (D)
Vilma.Leake@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
704-336 2088

George Dunlap, District 3 (D)
George.Dunlap@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
704-336-4419

Matthew Ridenhour, District 5 (R)
Matthew.Ridenhour@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov

Bill James, District 6 (R)
wjames@carolina.rr.com

Charlotte City Council
(elected in odd-numbered years/seven from districts/four at-large)
Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 E. 4th St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-336-7600
charmeck.org/city/charlotte/citycouncil
Regular Meetings:
Mondays, 7 p.m., Meeting Chamber

- - - advertisement - - -

The current council is filled to the brim with Democrats who are supportive of the LGBT community. One of its members, LaWana Mayfield, stands as the first openly LGBT elected official elected in Charlotte in 2011. She is a long-time community advocate and organizer, having worked with the American Red Cross, Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee, Charlotte Lesbian & Gay Fund, the Human Rights Campaign and more. Council’s second openly-gay member, Al Austin, was elected in 2013.

Dan Clodfelter, Mayor (D)
mayor@charlottenc.gov
704-336-2241

​Michael D. Barnes, Mayor Pro Tem, At-Large (D)
barnesforcharlotte@gmail.com
704-509-6141

Claire Green Fallon, At-Large (D)
cfallon@charlottenc.gov
704-336-6105

David Howard, At-Large (D)
info@davidhowardclt.com
704-336-4099

Vi Lyles, At-Large (D)
vlyles@charlottenc.gov
704-336-3431

Patsy B. Kinsey, District 1 (D)
pkinsey@charlottenc.gov
704-336-3432

Al Austin, District 2 (D)
aaustin@charlottenc.gov
704-336-3185

LaWana Mayfield, District 3 (D)
lmayfield@charlottenc.gov
704-336-3435

Gregory A. Phipps, District 4 (D)
gaphipps@charlottenc.gov
704-336-3436

John N. Autry, District 5 (D)
jautry@charlottenc.gov
704-336-2777

Kenny Smith, District 6 (R)
krsmith@charlottenc.gov
704-574-7241

Edmund H. Driggs, District 7 (R)
ed@eddriggs.com
704-432-7077

Ron Carlee, City Manager
rcarlee@charlottenc.gov
704-336-2241

Other Charlotte/Mecklenburg Government Offices:

Charlotte Area Transit System
charmeck.org/city/charlotte/cats

Charlotte Fire Department
charmeck.org/city/charlotte/fire

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
charmeck.org/city/charlotte/CMPD
Emergency: 911
Non-Emergency: 311
Health and Human Services: 211
Crime Stoppers: 704-334-1600
Victim Assistance/Rape Crisis: 704-332-9034

Mecklenburg County Board of Elections
charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/BOE

Mecklenburg County Domestic Violence Division
charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/CommunitySupportServices/WomensCommission/InfoEdu/DV

Mecklenburg County Health Department
charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/HealthDepartment

Mecklenburg County Sheriff’s Office
mecksheriff.com
704-336-2543

State Government

Governor: Pat McCrory (R)
Office of the Governor
20301 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-0301
919-814-2000
governor.state.nc.us

- - - advertisement - - -

North Carolina General Assembly
Legislative Building
16 W. Jones St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
919-733-4111
ncleg.net

Mecklenburg County Representation

House Members

Rob Bryan, District 88 (R)
Rob.Bryan@ncleg.net

Charles Jeter, District 92 (R)
Charles.Jeter@ncleg.net

Thom Tillis, District 98 (R)
Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net

Rodney W. Moore, District 99 (D)
Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net

Tricia Ann Cotham, District 100 (D)
Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net

Beverly M. Earle, District 101 (D)
Beverly.Earle@ncleg.net

Becky Carney, District 102 (D)
Becky.Carney@ncleg.net

William Brawley, District 103 (R)
Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net

Ruth Samuelson, District 104 (R)
Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net

Jacqueline Michelle Schaffer, District 105 (R)
Jacqueline.Schaffer@ncleg.net

Carla D. Cunningham, District 106 (D)
Carla.Cunningham@ncleg.net

M. Alexander, Jr., District 107 (D)
Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net

Senate Members

Jeff Jackson, District 37 (D)
Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net

Joel D. M. Ford, District 38 (D)
Joel.Ford@ncleg.net

Bob Rucho, District 39 (R)
Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

Malcolm Graham, District 40 (D)
Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net

Jeff Tarte, District 41 (R)
Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net

National

The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20500
202-456-1414
whitehouse.gov

President Barack Obama (D)
Vice President Joe Biden (D)

U.S. Capitol
East Capitol St NE & First St SE
Washington, DC 20004
visitthecapitol.gov

U.S. Senate

Sen. Richard M. Burr (R)
burr.senate.gov

Sen. Kay Hagan (D)
hagan.senate.gov

U.S. House of Representatives

Rep. Richard Hudson, District 8 (R)
hudson.house.gov

Rep. Robert Pittenger, District 9 (R)
pittenger.house.gov

Vacant due to resignation in January 2014 of Democrat Rep. Mel Watt, District 12
currently being managed under the supervision of the Clerk of the House of Representatives until the seat has been filled.
clerk.house.gov

— compiled by Lainey Millen

- - - advertisement - - -