All across the state of North Carolina, voters are gathering at their local early voting locations or are securing an absentee ballot so they can cast their support for their favored candidates in North Carolina’s primary elections.

Early voting began on March 3 and will continue through March 12. Check local times and locations to determine where to go. Absentee ballot requests must be received at least seven days before Election Day (March 15) by 5 p.m. and returned by March 15. Also, for those who are voting in person, mandated voter ID laws are now in force. Visit the state’s Board of Elections site to learn more about what kinds of ID will be acceptable. On March 15, polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and will close at 7:30 p.m.

From national resources, the Human Rights Campaign, LPAC and Emily’s List have endorsed Hillary Clinton (D) for president. Emily’s List has also endorsed Deborah Ross (D) for U.S. Senate from North Carolina.

The Mecklenburg Political Action Committee (MeckPAC), Equality NC (ENC) and its Equality NC Action Fund and Replacements LTD Political Action Committee (ReplacementsPAC) have been busy making decisions on whom they would support in elections. Both LGBT and allied candidates from varying walks of life have been scrutinized. The PACs and others have now made the following names available to those who are exercising the privilege of voting in a free society.

Kicking off the endorsements list is ENC.

For statewide seats they favor: governor, Roy Cooper; attorney general, Josh Stein; secretary of state, Elaine Marshall; insurance commissioner, Wayne Goodwin; labor commissioner, Charles Meeker; treasurer, Dan Blue III; state superintendent of public instruction, June Atkinson; and state auditor, Beth Wood.

State legislative seat endorsements are: House of Representatives — Brian Farkas (D9), Larry Hall (D29), Jennifer Ferrell (D36), Gale Adcock (D41) – no primary, Mary Belk (D88) – no primary, Billy Maddalon (D100), Rochelle Rivas (D103), John Ager (D115) and Brian Turner (D116); Senate — Dr. Naveed Aziz (D21), Norman Bossert (D48) and Terry Van Duyn (D49).

Judicial race nods go to: Aretha Blake, Judge (D26) and Christy Mann, Judge (D26); N.C. Court of Appeals judges — Vince Rozier, Jr. (Dietz seat), Abe Jones (Hunter seat), Linda Stephens (Stephens seat) and Judge Rickye McKoy-Mitchell (Zachary seat).

Local endorsements are: Buncombe County — Jasmine Beach-Ferrara, commissioner (D1) and Nancy Nehls Nelson, commissioner (D2); Johnston County — Wendy May, commissioner (D2); Mecklenburg County — Lula Dualeh, commissioner (D2) and David Granberry, register of deeds; New Hanover County — Johnathan Barfield, Jr., commissioner and Nelson Beaulieu, commissioner; Orange County — Matt Hughes, commissioner (at-large), Penny Rich, commissioner (D1), Mark Dorosin, commissioner (D1) and Renee Price, commissioner (D2); and Wake County —Greg Ford, commissioner (at-large).

In the Triad, Replacements LTD PAC endorsements are as follows: U.S. — Clinton (D), president and Ross (D), U.S. Senate; Statewide — Cooper (D), governor; Linda Coleman or Holly Jones (D), lieutenant governor; Stein (D), attorney general; Charles Meeker (D), commissioner of labor; Atkinson (D), superintendent of public instruction; Blue III (D), treasurer; Guilford County — Bill Davis (D-D18 ), N.C. District Court, Krieder seat; Lora Cubbage (D-D18), N.C. District Court, (Sherrill seat); Aaron Keith McCullough (D-D1), Board of Education; Linda Welborn (R-D4), Board of Education; Deena Hayes (D-D8), Board of Education; Alamance County — Amy Scott Galey (R), Board of Commissioners; and Davis (D-D18 ), N.C. District Court, Krieder seat and Cubbage (D-D18), N.C. District Court, (Sherrill seat); Randolph County — Davis (D-D18 ), N.C. District Court, Krieder seat and Cubbage (D-D18), N.C. District Court, (Sherrill seat).

Replacements has no state race endorsements for auditor, commissioners of agriculture and insurance and secretary of state due to no Democratic primary and no desire to endorse the Republican candidates. The same applies to Guilford County’s Board of Education positions in Districts 2 and 3.

In Mecklenburg County, MeckPAC endorses the following: Mecklenburg County Commission At-Large — Pat Cotham, Trevor Fuller and Ella Scarborough (D) and Mecklenburg County Commission District — Velma Leake (D-D2). Warnings were issued for Joel Levy and Bill James who are running for the Republican seat in District 6. There were either no candidates or no primary in Districts 1, 3, 4 and 5, as well as for the Democratic and Libertarian races in District 6.

Other non-PAC endorsements are: Planned Parenthood South Atlantic — Cooper, governor; Stein, attorney general; and Atkinson, N.C. superintendent of public instruction; plus, Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund — Maddalon (D100).


Lainey Millen

Lainey Millen is QNotes' associate editor, special assignments writer, N.C. and U.S./World News Notes columnist and production director. She can be reached at and 704-531-9988,...